Via MusicRow:

The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the nominees for their Special Awards, honors that recognize outstanding work in categories including Broadcaster of the Year, Bluegrass Event of the Year, Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project, Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project, Print/Media Person of the Year and Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year.

The Special Awards will be handed out Thursday, Sept. 29, during a luncheon at the World of Bluegrass Business Conference at the Raleigh Convention Center in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina.

“Announcing the Special Awards nominees is yet another highlight of the year, as our membership recognizes and celebrates annual contributions of excellence by people who are the backbone of the bluegrass community,” said IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger. “The artistry and hard work of these nominees is vital to everyone in bluegrass music.”

Nominees are selected by a specially appointed committee made up of bluegrass music professionals who possess significant knowledge of the history of the genre. The recipient of each award is decided on by the Panel of Electors, IBMA members with deep roots in the bluegrass music industry.

Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project

Darol Anger and Joe Walsh; The People Need Light by Mr. Sun; Compass Records
Ron Block; Forbes Family Treasures, Volumes 1&2 by The Forbes Family; Rebel Records
Peter Cooper; The Muscle Shoals Recordings by The SteelDrivers; Rounder Records
Daniel Mullins; The Blues Are Still The Blues by The Traditional Grass; Rebel Records
Larry Nager; Modern Day Man by Josh Williams; Rounder Records
Jim Wood; Home Made Sugar and a Puncheon Floor by Howdy Forrester and John Hartford; Spring Fed Records

Read full list of nominees on MusicRow